GBA Awards Outstanding Geoprofessionals and Firms

Almost all the resources GBA produces for our members, our contributions to the geoprofessional community, and our events are primarily driven by volunteer leaders.

Each year at our Annual Conference, we recognize those who have contributed to GBA in a significant way. During the 2024 Annual Conference in Anaheim, California, awards were given to firms and individuals who exhibited extraordinary support and meritorious performance during our 2023-2024 Fiscal Year. Those recognized during the annual Recognition and Awards Banquet were:

Each year, we ask our Committees and Councils to provide us with the names of people who have contributed to our Association during the past year. Based on this year’s list, we have more people contributing to GBA at a level higher than ever before.

Recipients of Certificates of Appreciation for 2023-2024 are:

• Donald Blackburn (Blackburn Consulting)
• Michaela Brewster, CPG (Terracon)
• Elizabeth Brown, P.E. (Atlas Technical Consultants)
• Rick Bruce, P.G., CHMM (S&ME)
• Abi Corbett (SME)
• Enrique Farfan, Ph.D., P.E. (HDR)
• Salvator “Sal” Fiorentino, P.E. (ECS Group of Companies)
• Kurt Fraese, L.G., F.GBA (Fraese and Associates)
• Brent Hay, M.Sc., P.Eng (Trek Geotechnical)
• Craig Hill (Kleinfelder)
• June Jewell, CPA (AEC Business Solutions, LLC)
• Alfred “Al” Jones, P.E. (Nobis Group)
• Aaron Mann, Esq. (Terracon)
• Tony Martin, P.G. (BSK Associates)
• Andrew Michaud (S.W. Cole Engineering)
• Keith Mobley, P.E., G.E. (Northern Geotechnical Engineering – Terra Firma Testing)
• Helen Pappas, CHMM ENV SP (BEM Systems)
• Dori Ross, P.E. (Sanborn, Head, & Associates Inc.)
• Emil Rudolph, P.E., G.E. (Fenagh Engineering & Testing)
• Jerry Samford, P.E., F.GBA – (Troutman Pepper)
• Jennifer Sanborn, P.E. (Sanborn, Head, & Associates Inc.)
• Ji Shin, Esq. (Earth Systems)
• Diego Torres (Atlas Technical Consultants)

Special awards of appreciation were given to two volunteers who contributed to GBA in extraordinary and unique ways during the year. Those award winners were:

• Tiffany Vorhies, NACE CIP-2, PMP (SME)
• Ryan White, P.E., G.E., F.ASCE (PBS Engineering and Environmental Inc.)

Tiffany and Ryan show exceptional vision, leadership, and delivery of the GBA Podcasts. They regularly come up with new ideas for series, reach out to industry leaders, and monitor and report podcast metrics.

One of the most valuable programs GBA offers its members is Peer Review. The following firms were recognized for being peer reviewed in the past 12 months:

• Blackburn Consulting
• GeoProfessional Innovation Corp
• Geotechnical Consultants, Inc.

For several years, GBA has been tracking the engagement of member firms through five measurements we found to be the most important indicators of the value members were receiving from GBA membership. Ultimately, engagement also indicates the value of membership to your employees, which we feel is paramount to delivering on the GBA mission.

The following firms were found to have the highest measured engagement in GBA during the last fiscal year (one from each category based on firm size):

• PBS Engineering and Environmental Inc.
• GeoEngineers
• Terracon

The Woodward L. Vogt Outstanding Project Award was named for a GBA Past-President to recognize the contributions made by a life-long advocate of high-quality geoprofessional services. The award celebrates the greatness of our members as they use GBA’s best practices to manage risk and optimize performance on notable projects. The winner of this prestigious award in 2024 was:

S&ME – Great Falls-Dearborn Diversion Dam Bypasses, Great Falls, South Carolina

Victor Barchers, P.E. (Kleinfelder)
Environmental Business Committee Chair, 2018-2023

Grace Blackburn (Blackburn Consulting)
Peer Review Committee Vice-Chair, 2021-2024

Veronica De Freitas, P.E. (U.S. Department of State)
Inclusion Advancement Committee Chair, 2020-2024

Board of Directors Service Awards are bestowed on Directors who have completed their terms of service.

Bradley Melocik, P.E., P.H. (DOWL)


Mark Kramer, P.E., F.GBA (SME)

Each year, the current GBA President selects one person to recognize for the contributions they made to our Association during the year of his or her presidency. Immediate Past-President Matt Moler, P.E., awarded the 2023-2034 President’s Award to Mark in recognition of his servant’s heart, making newcomers to GBA feel welcome, and his general support of GBA and the geoprofessions.


Matt Moler, P.E. (S&ME)

This award is bestowed on the immediate Past-President after completing their term of service. During the awards ceremony, the Association recognized Mr. Moler for his years of service to the Board and for his leadership during his presidency.

“GBA is a wonderful association with nearly 55 years of making the geoprofessions better,” Moler said. “I am so honored to have served as President, and I hope my involvement has left the association and our industry just a little bit better. Time flies when you are having fun, and this past year has been no exception.”

On behalf of the GBA Board of Directors, all member firms, and staff, we congratulate all the award winners for Fiscal Year 2023-2024.